Je dois travailler… Mais je ne suis pas

29 Dec

As I said in the last post, I wanted some music to work to. Well searching the internet brought up quite a bit of French electro, which is good, but it wasn’t actually what I was looking for. I have an iTunes library large enough for alot of music to go into it and swallowed up, never to be heard again. Well I’ve plucked three of those songs back from the brink, and put them onto my iPod. Here they are.

The Maccabees – First Love

The Maccabees had some what passed me by, a name in NME but nothing more than that. I got round to downloading both of their albums back in March but it is only now, two years since they rose to prominence, and a lot of peer pressure later that I’ve actually bothered to listen to it. I would advise those in the same situation as me to listen to it, they are one of the best British indie bands of the moment. What they’re doing may not be particularly earth-shattering, but they are following a well-trodden and successful formula for making good music.

Foals – Miami

Foals first album, Antidotes, is one of my favourite albums. I eagerly anticipated their second, Total Life Forever, but from clapping eyes on the cover, I could see this wasn’t going to live up to the high standards of it’s predecessor. The fun had gone out of Foals – the scribbly drawing had been replaced by quite a boring, dark photo. This theme, contrary to the old adage, don’t judge the book by it’s cover, is maintained throughout the album. However, the one highlight is Miami, which is fun and upbeat – it sounds as though it should be on the first album.

The Drums – Forever and Ever Amen

This track was familiar from the superb St Etienne remix – one of my favourite tracks of the year, period. While the original doesn’t live up to the high standards of the remix, I’d still consider it to be one of the best tracks on their debut album, with the obvious exception of Let’s Go Surfing. I have to admit this track is one of the only tracks from The Drums that I really like or that in my eyes really lives up to their hype – although I have to say they have spawned some great remixes and for that alone we should be grateful.

3 Responses to “Je dois travailler… Mais je ne suis pas”

  1. Menjez January 16, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Realy good work cheers mate!

  2. mouhammed amine chakir February 19, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  3. Web Smilies March 14, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    […] … Nice post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

