Here are some of your new favourite bands

15 Jan

When I wrote this there wasn’t really a theme and I was going through the usual difficulties in coming up with a title, so I decided to look back over the post and I realised the unifying theme was that these are all, with the exception of the Eurythmics, artists that aren’t particularly high profile but possibly will be or maybe even should be. I know that’s a theme running throughout the blog, new exciting artists, but I think it applies even more here, so enjoy the sound of tomorrow, if you can get over the cliches…

Foster The People – Helena Beat

Last summer this LA trio were creating a real stir with their uber-catchy debut, Pumped Up Kicks. However since then they’ve been pretty quiet, I’d almost forgotten about them until today when they proved they have very much still got it, with this new electro-pop track, Helena Beat. While their last track was whistles and guitars this one’s synths and drum claps, heralding the arrival of a darker version of Foster The People.

Foster The People – Pumped Up Kicks (RLYNX Remix)

While I was searching for the relevant link for the track above I found this ultra-chilled remix from RLYNX of FDP’s other track. (That’s Foster the People, not the NWA track in case you were wondering). Now as far I can see it’s his only work so I’m going to urge him here to do some more, because this is pretty good.. The people want more, and you’ve gotta give the people what they want.

Winter Gloves – Plastic Slides

With verses sounding like The Drums and choruses sounding like Two Door Cinema Club, these Canadian boys are destined for big things. While they may have been around longer than both of the aforementioned artists, they haven’t quite gained the critical acclaim yet. However, I think that’s likely to change with this track.

Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams (Atiq Remix)

I didn’t think this track should be touched but Swedish producer Atiq has proved me to be completely wrong, with this electro remix. I’m genuinely struggling for words to describe this one. That ever distinctive riff from the original get’s darker, more menacing, more danceable. Maybe even better? Then it’s repeated throughout this song. No doubt that this would get any dancefloor anywhere in the world in a frenzy

Star Slinger – Word

This is the second track I’ve featured from Mancunian Star Slinger in successive weeks. Some in the British press are lauding him as a latter-day DJ Shadow, and I guess this is instrumental hip hop, but what I really like about this track isn’t the beat it’s the way that the bassline almost carries the track, with an independent but interdependent tune. According to Star Slinger this is Satanic Soul. Awesome…

Hollerado – Fake Drugs

When I saw the title of this one I thought it was kinda lame, trying to hard to get that rockstar image and so on. But listen, and to quote the song, it’s so agreeable. That doesn’t really work.. Basically, it’s your standard indie-rock track. As I said, calling a track Fake Drugs means it’s going to have to be pretty good to actually stand up, but this track does stand up pretty well..

Lord Boyd – Versailles Beat

Now Versailles Beat suggests there may be some kind of WWI theme running through this track, so I’m going to hazard a guess that Lord Boyd might be some sort of English military guy I haven’t heard of? Then again I could be completely wrong, this doesn’t sound like the kind of band that would name themselves after a historical figure. Man, I don’t even know how to describe this, it’s like electro-pop but performed by people as crazy as Lady Gaga wishes she was.
UPDATE – Lord Boyd messaged me on Soundcloud to say that you can get this track on a free EP of his here.. Get downloading

2 Responses to “Here are some of your new favourite bands”

  1. S H January 15, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    • dwayne January 15, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      Like this.. got a Soundcloud or anything similar?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

