Get Down Get Down

2 Feb

Shake that ‘booty’, clap your hands, wiggle those hips – do whatever it is when you’re dancing. If you wanna do it well, do the opposite of me! I’ll stick firmly behind the decks. Anyway, here are a few tracks you might wanna get down and funky to. Alternatively, you could just sit and nod your head – probably a better choice, all told.

Kim Josh Ill – New Disco Deux

Kim Jong Ill – the only person you’d like to get hold of nuclear weapons less than Sarah Palin. Kim Josh Ill – the only person you’d like to get their hands on your parents disco collection more than Étienne de Crécy. Learn that difference – it could be important! This track, New Disco Deux is set to do big things. So keep your eyes out for this new up-and-coming producer.

Ashton Edit – Somebody

I came accross this guy on a trawl of Soundcloud, and found that I really liked his filter/french house sound. Have to say I hadn’t heard of him, but I think he’ll be someone we’ll all here a great deal more of in the future. This has more of an eighties feel than a lot of stuff I listen to but I think it would really go off. Great tune!

Dominic DeCocco – Love Festival

I wouldn’t usually expect to find a Disco House producer going by the Italinate name of Dominic DeCocco deep in the heart of middle England, but I have – well he found me, with a track in my dropbox actually – but it’s a good find, a nice bout of the very cool Love Festival to blow away the cobwebs on your flares and disco boots.

The Streets – Came In Through The Door (Featuring Kano)

The Streets new mixtape, Cyberspace and Reds has, as one Facebook friend put it, ‘pissed all over the last two albums’. He is, on the whole, right. This is a standout track, with Kano, with a big fat wobbly bassline in the background and typical Streets-synths. I wasn’t mourning his demise as much as some fans admitedly, but after hearing this, I am to quite a large extent.

And that’s that. Enjoy! And fear not, I will post some more conventional indie soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

