Girlfriend (Alex Hill Remix)

28 Sep

Recently, Phoenix released all the stems to their album, so we can expect remixes galore from that. Well anyway, here’s an early contender, it’s Alex Hill‘s version of Girlfriend, and it takes the song from indie into some place I couldn’t name properly. It’s closest to chillwave I supposed, but just not quite as distorted as that. I guess I’d call it the indie side of chillwave – like if Washed Out teamed up with Vampire Weekend or something. I’m struggling here, you can probably tell. Well check it out below.

Phoenix – Girlfriend (Alex Hill Remix)

While I’m on the topic, don’t you think that all bands should release the stems like this? I mean basically what this is going to do for Phoenix is get them a bucketload of awesome remixes, totally free. Who could argue with that? In addition, it encourages new people to get into music, stems are so difficult to find, specially decent ones, so making it easier will only fuel creative energies. Hats off to Phoenix for doing this, and here’s hoping some more follow suit soon!

2 Responses to “Girlfriend (Alex Hill Remix)”

  1. heni October 17, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Yeah I agree that all bands should release the stems – not right away though! The only worry I have is that they might lead to loads of crap remixes! But I suppose they wouldn’t really get anywhere if they were rubbish… I would love to see people like Ellie Goulding do this, her tracks have so many lovely remixes -.-
    Heni x

  2. mikey b November 26, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    i really like this – not much has been changed but it still feels different enough to offer a different perspective – and what a perspective that is!
    Cheers for the find!

Leave a Reply

