5 of the Best: Atmospheric Songs

17 Dec

1) Burial – Raver

This entire post could be Burial tracks, he is in my eyes the king of this type of music. This one is my personal favorite. If you like it I urge you to check him out further.

2) Yeasayer – Madder Red

Readers may be slightly surprised by this entry, but in the right circumstances it is pretty atmospheric. I remember last January, walking in the snow with a pink sky above, listening to the tuneful howling of Chris Keating. It was hugely atmospheric.

3) Brian Eno – An Ending (Ascent)

This comes from an album namedĀ Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks, and so you’d expect it to belong a list like this. It certainly lives up to that billing.

4) Jamie Woon – Night Air (Ramadanman Refix)

Originally dubstep was all about great atmospheres, it felt dark and brooding. Then Mary Nightingale, Rusko and the chavs got stuck in. However, Ramadanman is slowly making it more listenable once again, and this remix of post-dubstep prince Jamie Woon is an example of where I hope it will go in the future.

5) Burial – UK (Jolie Filles Edit)

Now I did try and limit this to just one Burial track but I caught this new remix as I was writing, and I want to share it with you. It fits in here well, the atmosphere’s awesome… so why not?

3 Responses to “5 of the Best: Atmospheric Songs”

  1. IndieHere December 24, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    Really digging that Yeasayer track, agree with you about the atmosphericness of it. Awesome

  2. William January 16, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    Thanks for posting this!

  3. Dannie Mcclimon February 25, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    This formal summary helped me a lot! Saved your site, very great categories just about everywhere that I see here! I really appreciate the information, thank you.

Leave a Reply

