Homeless Songs

21 Dec

To start with, I must apologise, as today’s post doesn’t have a thread running through it like my others. However, if you like what I’m doing, hopefully you’ll like these tracks, which I haven’t been able to put anywhere else.

The ABC Club – Thieving Magpie

This Leeds trio (?) remind me of one of my favorite bands of the year, Two Door Cinema Club. If I’d heard them a few hours earlier then they may well have featured in my indie artists to watch in 2011.

Gorillaz – Crystalised (Cover of the xx) [JThunder Mix]

I’m slightly astounded to find that this has only been downloaded 14 times from his Soundcloud. Starting with a really good track, the Gorillaz then made one of the best covers of the year, and now JThunder has carried on the good work with this remix.

Amadou & Miriam – Sabali (Miike Snow Remix)

I have to confess that the Miike Snow part of this track was what originally made me play it. I had heard of Amadou & Miriam of before, but I hadn’t actually heard them. However, after hearing this, I plan to remedy that. No lack of credit intended for Miike Snow by the way, it’s a good remix, but I want to hear more of the original after hearing this track.

Vampire Weekend – Walcott (Insane Mix)

A friend of mine was telling me that her favorite track from Contra was number eleven. Now I told her she was wrong, there is no eleven. However, a bit of searching proved me wrong, there is indeed a number eleven which is a bonus track. This set me off looking for other tracks of theirs which I hadn’t got, including this one, a sweet electro remix of Walcott, one of their best tracks.

5 Responses to “Homeless Songs”

  1. the abc club December 24, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    thanks for the kind words!
    the abc club
    x

  2. Rigoberto Raposa January 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    thanks for that , found your site via google , added to my bookmark

  3. Michael Padilla February 11, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    Dwayne! I cannot believe you know about Amadou & Miriam! You just gave me an idea for a post…it’s Hip-Hop/Rap though. Would it matter?

    • Michael Padilla February 11, 2011 at 5:40 am #

      Nevermind, I just saw your post about it haha. Nas & Damian Marley. Good stuff!

      • Michael Padilla February 11, 2011 at 5:43 am #

        Never mind, again! I thought those links to the right…”Popular Blog Tracks-The Hype Machine” were yours.

Leave a Reply

