Thank God for the Vaccines

5 Jan

This is a band I’ve heard an awful lot about. And I mean a really great deal. Everyone who is anyone has been keen to tell the world that this London four-piece are the saviours of indie rock, bring about a renaissance a la The Strokes. Now, as with a lot of hyped music, this to me seemed rather unjustified from the two songs I’d heard. However, NME today published their annual radar issue, something which I bought as much out of obligation as choice. In said magazine, they compare Post Break-Up Sex to Arctic Monkeys debut I Bet That You Look Good on the Dancefloor. Now for me, this was a track that actually lived up to it’s hype – it was everything the critics said, and some more on top. With this in mind, I decided to give The Vaccines another chance, and listened to Post Break-Up Sex. I wasn’t dissapointed. And although it’s not quite in the I Bet That You Look Good on the Dancefloor-league, it wouldn’t sound out of place on a Strokes album – high praise indeed, as I’m sure you realise. The lyrics don’t mean that much to me, the tune isn’t even that good but there’s a certain something about this track which I can’t quite place my finger on which really does mark The Vaccines out as a band worth knowing about. Here’s hoping the album’s more like this than the other tracks I’ve heard!

The Vaccines – Post Break-Up Sex

5 Responses to “Thank God for the Vaccines”

  1. Eoin January 5, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Really Dwayne, if you don’t like it, don’t feel you have to. As the monkeys said, ‘don’t believe the hype’

    • dwayne January 5, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

      Ah, if you found this link on Facebook you would have found that I called it ‘believe the hype’, in reference to this very statement.
      It’s true that I haven’t, up until now liked this band however I now do, after hearing this track, that’s what I was trying to say in the article.
      There are plenty of hyped bands who I don’t like, I can assure you – for instance Brother. Quite often, they take a while to grow on me – for instance The Drums weren’t a band I at first liked.

      • Eoin January 6, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

        ok, thats cool. i just have a massive problem with the BBC sound of… poll because its so fixated with business, so you know that all the bands that appear on it have been back by the record labels to the sums of millions just so they come out top. and it does them no good. reading the winers of this poll over that last few years is just embarrassing.

      • dwayne January 6, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

        yeah I agree with you there, I like Jamie Woon and Jai Paul, I think they do offer something different and new and that I enjoy listening to.
        Unhappy to see Jessie J on there I must admit, cannot understand that at all, and it’s true that the record company investment is playing far too big of a role – that’s one of the reasons I set this up.

  2. Eoin January 11, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    i see your train of thought and admire your enthusiasm and passion for writing and seeking out new music. but another blog article on the vaccines seems a little (i dunno) pointless(?) . please don’t think i’m being harsh. i just think your talents lie in saying the unsaid and seeking out new artists.

    ps. if it’s not too much to ask, i’d be interested to hear your thoughts on the following bands/artists – ian m. hale, nosferatu d2, smoke fairies, former ghosts,

Leave a Reply

