Mind.Blown.

15 Jan

I have a few rules on this blog, firstly I try not to post more than once a day because otherwise the songs won’t get the exposure they deserve. Secondly, I tend not to post songs on their own because I think it’s better for the reader to get a wider selection of tracks.
Now here I’ve broken both of those rules. That should go some way to telling you how good this track is. I’ve literally just heard it, and right away I want to post it here because I don’t want to deprive the readers of it for a second.


Gil Scott-Heron & Jamie xx – I’ll Take Care Of You

When Jamie xx and Gil Scott-Heron, two of the best musicians of their respective genres, agreed to collaborate, there was always going to be fireworks. Jamie xx has put out some pretty awesome remixes, but none of them are quite in the same league as this one. We may have 2011’s best track just 15 days into the year. That’s how good this is. You know his style – he likes to put in really fat bass, some minimal drums and sparse samples. Well, imagine a fuller version of that, with maybe some slight house influences and the same guitars that made The xx album so hauntingly beautiful. And it’s all with the absolutely fantastic vocals that Gil Scott-Heron, one of the finest soul singers there is today provides. There’s a whole album of this stuff, but everything about this track is perfect. I’ve really gone into hyperbole on this one, but it is deserving of it. Sure, everything I post on this blog I’ll tell you it’s good – that’s because it is and I do really like it. Unlike Radio 1’s deejays, I mean it from the heart, but being honest this is a cut above even those, I’d go as far as to call this a work of art. Thinking about the xx, they released a superb debut album, and now Jamie’s proven through a few remixes and side tracks to be one of the best UK producers there is, similarly Romy has worked on the excellent CREEP track Days. I would be seriously surprised if in future decades when we’ve heard more music from them that The xx aren’t regarded as one of the best groups of all time. You may think this is a bit far on the back of one track, and I wouldn’t blame you for thinking that, but the parts that make it up are three of the best British musicians individually today. What they can go on to do as a collective we can only imagine..

Leave a Reply

