Oops

24 Jan

To be honest I’m not even sure if there’s any point writing this. You probably know all these tracks already, but for some reason I didn’t.. God knows why. But I am going to write this, because there’s things to be said for them, and you might have been like me, in not so blissful ignorance.

Snoop Dogg – Who Am I (What’s My Name)

Yup, Snoop Dogg’s on my blog. Hell yeah. Now I’m not going to try and do any of the shizzle izzle type stuff, because that’s best left to the man himself, but let it be said that he is doubtlessly one of the coolest individuals on the planet. This is one of his earlier tracks, and it’s really really good. Before you ask, yes I am aware of Snoop Dogg and I have been since I was about 12, but it’s only recently I’ve actually bothered to look at any of the older stuff. Here’s my reward.

Best Coast – When I’m With You

Best Coast are certainly a band who I’d describe as being on the periphery of my music taste – suffice to say I’d heard of them without hearing them. If you’d pushed me I would have labelled them in the surf-rock movement, which I think is pretty much right, but what I hadn’t accounted for is quite how good they are. This track reminds me of Texas in many ways, there’s certainly something of Sharleen Spiteri in Bethany Cosentino’s lazy drawl (?) on this one..

Best Coast – Boyfriend (Ghostwaves Edit)

This track had even managed to infiltrate my iTunes library and yet had still managed to slip under the radar. I’m quite annoyed that I’ve been ignoring this for the best part of four months – it’s definitely worthy of attention. It’s an interesting amalgamation of genres – some bits sound like witch house, some sound like surf rock, some sound like chillwave and others sound like plain old house. What a mix of vogueness – except it’s not doing it to sound vogue, it’s doing it to sound good, and by heck, it works!

Grizzly Bear – Two Weeks

I recognised this but had no idea what it is. It was sampled in rather good style by D-Sisive, catch up here. Anyway, it’s built around a very good piano riff. Not sure that is the word really.. anyhow, at times it manages to sound a little bit about Still D.R.E. – is higher praise possible?

Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti –  Round and Round (Kill Them With Colour Remix)

Now I have to confess to not having heard the original so it’s hard to write a proper comment about this remix, but what I like is the contrast between the airy pianos, and the hard powerful synths. It’s manages to be mellow while being menacing which is pretty odd to hear but it sounds pretty cool in a kind of ‘far out dude’ way..

White Sea – Ladykiller (Gigamesh Remix)

A real last minute addition is this remix from Gigamesh. It’s literally just popped up in my Soundcloud dashboard, and it being by Gigamesh I had to give it a play before hitting the publish button on this one.. and what do you know, I’m glad I did. In the same way that DiscoTech and his solo work effortlessly combine the different strands of house, switching between them throughout the song, Gigamesh does it again here, to create this track. It sounds as though it’s constantly building up to something, I can imagine this would be a good one to hit the empty freeway with at night.

Leave a Reply

