Forgotten Songs

9 Feb

Yep, that’s right I actually do have a playlist on my iPod full of songs that I feel I should listen to more. Basically, it’s full of tracks I like but neglected to listen to.. They’ve all only got a play or two. So I listened to it today! Here are some of my favourites from it.

Dominant Legs – Young At Love and Life

It feels like the wrong time of year to be posting this, it’s a September song to me. It has that kind of worn-out-summer vibe, a hazy melancholy is present throughout.

French Films – Take You With Me

Talking about the influences of a band feels awfully clichéd, but French Films are literally oozing them. In this, and also in Golden Sea, which I posted previously, I can hear everything from The Killers to New Order, The Drums to Lipps Inc. Anyway, this track is further evidence why I picked them as one of my acts to watch in 2011.

James Blake – CMYK

Many people would tell you this is one of the best tracks of 2010, and I’d agree that this is what sets James Blake apart from all the pretenders to the post-dubstep throne. I wouldn’t have particularly labelled him as a favourite of mine, but looking back over the recent posts,

Diamond Rings – Wait & See

Diamond Rings is a Canadian, and fortunately, his music doesn’t sound like what promo shots like this would suggest! Far from glam rock, this is pop with all sorts of influences, sounding almost like a toned down Nirvana…

One Response to “Forgotten Songs”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Forgotten Songs « Compromise Music -- Topsy.com - February 9, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by compromisemusic, compromisemusic. compromisemusic said: Forgotten Songs: http://t.co/PlAwuQg […]

Leave a Reply

