BBC Sound of 2011 – An Update

14 Feb

Now seems like a good time to update you with the progress of some of the BBC Sound of 2011 artists. First up, I’d like to say a big thanks to all who downloaded the mixtape and shared with their friends etc, it’s been a great success… More like that is planned in the future. But now I want to talk about some of my favourite artists from the aforementioned list, as new music of theirs has come to light recently, and it’s lived up to the high standards I’d expect! Sure, Jessie J has been propelled to number one spot, possibly entirely due to her winning of the competition, but I want to focus on James Blake, Jamie Woon and of course, Jai Paul. Regular readers will know these three, the bassy J’s if you will, are among my favourite artists at the moment, and new material of theirs inevitably excites me. Well, here it is!

James Blake – Sparing The Horses

I guess it’s best to get the disappointment out of the way first, for this is not a new song at all… It dates from his debut EP, Air & Lack Thereof. However, it’s new to me (primarily through laziness) and I’m sure it will be new to many of Blake’s listeners too… If you like him for his newer, vocal stuff prepare to be disappointed, but if you like the older, more sample oriented stuff then this ought to be right up your street. With a drum beat as frenetic as the hooves of the horses it mentions, and wallops of big fatty bass, it’s also finally gone some way to showing why he might be described as dubstep.

Jamie Woon – Missing Person

Having just shared Spiral a week ago, it’s Missing Person’s turn this week. I have to confess to preferring Spiral, but this is a good track, it lacks in sound quality and the bassy undertones which have scored previous work of Jamie Woon, but the key feature, his voice is still there. I almost walked away from this one, but as this one gets going, it gets more and more irresistible, as Woon swoons into the chorus.

Jai Paul – Baby Beat

Okay, it’s only 40 seconds long but Jai Paul is Jai Paul as far as I’m concerned. I also realised that my Jai Paul thing started before this blog, so I’ve got two more tracks to post below! This is much what we’ve come to expect, as wonky bass crashes into the Prince-esque falsetto. This is probably the album I’m anticipating most for this year, and as each day goes by I’m getting more concerned it’s not going to happen – he’s virtually a hermit now! The reason I’m looking forward to it so is it’s difference from anything else out there – the closest things are M.I.A. which doesn’t really come very close at all and Hudson Mohawke, whose only produced a couple up to the Jai Paul standard.

Emiliana Torrini – Jungle Drum (Jai Paul Remix)

In the meantime we’ve got this, a rather good remix of Emiliana Torrini. For all it lacks in craft and guile, it makes up in pure fun. I’m all for atmospheres, hand crafted beautifully put together music, but sometimes a brutish bassline works just as well as all the effort, as this shows. Another thing I like about this track is that it included me to Emiliana Torrini – and now it’s starting to look like a match of two of the best artists around right now.

Jai Paul – BTSTU

If you haven’t heard this, then where the hell have you actually been!? It’s one of the most innovative, interesting tracks of 2010, and really heralded Jai Paul’s arrival as a newcomer to look out for. The only thing that remains to be said is sorry, for never having posted this before!

2 Responses to “BBC Sound of 2011 – An Update”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Track listing of Jamie Woon’s debut album “Mirrorwriting” « LOFT965 - March 16, 2011

    […] BBC Sound of 2011 – An Update (compromisemusic.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Track listing of Jamie Woon’s debut album “Mirrorwriting” | Luxury - March 16, 2011

    […] BBC Sound of 2011 – An Update (compromisemusic.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

